TL;DR
Get office and shipping supplies delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
NS&I has increased rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts, covering one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. The changes mark a second round of increases in two months, and several accounts now pay more than 5%; the available information does not identify their exact rates or show how they compare with the market.
NS&I has raised rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts for the second time in two months, improving returns on its one-, two-, three- and five-year products. Several accounts now pay more than 5%, but the available details do not establish whether any is currently a best buy against competing savings accounts.
The Treasury-backed savings provider has increased rates across eight fixed-rate accounts, according to MoneyWeek. The changes cover four terms: one, two, three and five years. The source report describes the latest moves as a further increase after an earlier round within the previous two months.
Several of the accounts now pay above 5%, MoneyWeek reports. It does not specify in the supplied information which products have crossed that level, their previous and new rates, or the date each revised rate takes effect. Those details matter to savers comparing offers and checking whether a rate applies to new deposits or existing accounts.
The headline question of whether the accounts are “best buys” cannot be answered from the rate announcement alone. The supplied report material contains no named competitor accounts, market-wide comparison, minimum-deposit details, withdrawal rules or account-specific rates. Savers would need to check the current product terms and alternatives before deciding whether a particular NS&I account suits their needs.
How the Rate Rise Affects Savers
For people considering a fixed-term account, a higher advertised rate can improve the interest available if they are willing to leave their money untouched for the chosen period. The increase across four different terms gives savers more than one duration to compare, while the report that some rates are above 5% may draw attention to NS&I’s products.
However, a higher rate does not by itself show that an account is the strongest available offer. The decision also depends on the rate for the exact term, how much can be deposited, when interest is paid and whether access is restricted. Fixed-rate accounts can limit withdrawals during the term or impose conditions; the supplied source material does not give NS&I’s specific rules for these accounts.
NS&I is Treasury-backed, a feature that distinguishes it from ordinary bank and building-society savings accounts. That status may matter to savers weighing where to hold money, but it does not remove the need to read the terms or compare like-for-like products. The reported changes are a prompt to review rates, not proof that every account is suitable or market-leading.
best fixed-rate savings accounts 2024
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Second Increase in Two Months
The latest changes follow another set of NS&I rate increases reported within the previous two months. MoneyWeek characterises the announcement as the second rate rise in that period, suggesting the provider has revised its fixed-rate offers more than once in a short span.
NS&I is a Treasury-backed savings provider. The products in this report are fixed-rate accounts with terms of one, two, three or five years. That means the rate comparison needs to be made term by term: an offer for a one-year deposit is not directly comparable with a five-year commitment, even if both advertise a rate above 5%.
The supplied report does not provide the exact rate table or explain the reasons for the latest changes. It also does not provide a current comparison with other providers. As a result, readers can confirm the scope and broad direction of the announcement, but cannot use this material alone to calculate the additional interest or rank the accounts against competitors.
““NS&I has hiked rates on eight of its fixed-rate savings accounts for the second time in two months.””
— MoneyWeek
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Exact Rates and Best-Buy Status
The supplied material does not state the new rates for each account, the rates before the change, or when the revised offers take effect. It is also unclear which of the eight accounts now pay more than 5%, and whether the announcement applies only to new savers or changes the return for existing customers.
No market comparison is included, so best-buy status is unconfirmed. The report extract also lacks details such as minimum and maximum deposits, interest-payment options, early-access restrictions and account eligibility. Those terms can affect both the return and whether an account meets a saver’s needs.
high interest savings accounts over 5%
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check Current Terms Before Applying
Savers interested in the accounts should check NS&I’s current rate table and product documents for the exact rates, start dates and eligibility rules. They can then compare the same fixed term with other available accounts, taking account of deposit limits, access conditions and how interest is paid.
The supplied report does not give a date for any further NS&I changes or identify a next announcement. The rates and terms available when a saver applies should be checked directly, since a reported increase does not confirm that an offer will remain available or unchanged.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Which NS&I accounts had rate increases?
Eight fixed-rate accounts were affected across one-, two-, three- and five-year terms, according to MoneyWeek. The supplied information does not list each account by name.
How many of the new rates are above 5%?
MoneyWeek says several of the accounts now pay more than 5%, but does not specify how many or give the individual rates.
Are NS&I’s accounts best buys?
The available report details do not establish that. They contain no current comparison with competing accounts, so savers should compare the exact rates and terms before choosing.
Can existing NS&I customers get the higher rate?
The supplied information does not say whether the changes affect existing accounts or apply only to new deposits. Customers should check the terms for their specific product with NS&I.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
