🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Revises ChatGPT Pro With Doubled Limits on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers now have twice their previous shared allowance for ChatGPT Work and Codex. The company also canceled a planned reduction for Pro 200, while Plus limits and some Pro chat limits remain unchanged. Business Premium usage increased, but OpenAI did not specify a multiplier in its release notes.
OpenAI doubled the shared ChatGPT Work and Codex allowance for its $100 Pro 100 and $500 Pro 500 plans on October 29, and canceled a planned cut to the $200 Pro 200 plan one day before it was due to take effect. The adjustment changes how much qualifying work subscribers can do, but it does not raise every ChatGPT limit or change any listed plan price.
OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Work and Codex draw on the same pool, according to OpenAI’s pricing information, so the increase applies to that shared usage rather than creating separate allowances for each product. The company’s updated Pro help page says existing subscribers receive the new allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal.
For Pro 200, OpenAI says it canceled the reduction it had announced in September. The updated help page clarifies that subscribers on the lower allowance now match the higher allowance; people who already had the higher allowance keep it. OpenAI also says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit on Pro 200 now matches the higher one. This is a restoration for affected subscribers, not a doubling for everyone already on the higher allowance.
Other limits remain distinct. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and Pro 100 and Pro 500 keep their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits in Chat. The source material lists Pro 200 at $200 per month, Pro 100 at $100 and Pro 500 at $500, with no price changes announced. Ultrafast, the faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI’s release note also says Business Premium usage is increasing, but does not state by how much.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
More Work Without Broader Chat Limits
The change gives subscribers on the affected plans more room for longer tasks, research, documents and coding work without requiring a higher monthly price. That can matter to people who regularly run into Work or Codex allowances, and to teams deciding how many paid seats they need. It does not mean every task can be completed at twice the speed or that all ChatGPT usage limits have doubled.
OpenAI cautions that actual usage varies with the model, task and speed mode. A larger allowance is not a guarantee of twice as much completed work: more demanding requests may consume usage differently. For organizations, the revised seat allowance may affect how they distribute subscriptions, but it should be tracked separately from API budgets and other product limits.
The announcement also shows how quickly subscription terms can change. OpenAI had told Pro 200 customers that an allowance reduction would begin October 30, then reversed it on October 29. That reversal matters for subscribers making purchasing decisions based on expected limits. The company’s stated automatic update means eligible users do not have to cancel or renew to receive the revised allowance.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Apple MacBook Pro (14.2-inch, 2025) – M5 chip, 16GB Unified Memory, 1TB SSD, Space Black

Logitech MX Mechanical Wireless Illuminated Keyboard Tactile (Graphite)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
September’s Planned Pro 200 Cut
The revision follows a series of changes to OpenAI’s paid plans. The source material says OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model, describing that demand as “really unprecedented.” That characterization was his claim, not a usage figure published in the October 29 release notes.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. Its announcement said included usage allowances were changing and that affected users would receive email details, while the monthly Pro 200 price remained $200. Sottiaux described the original plan ladder on X as “Plus = 1X, Pro 100 = 5X, Pro 200 = 10X,” adding that some existing Pro 200 subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier for a period. The planned allowance reduction was due to begin October 30, according to the supplied account of the September notice.
OpenAI’s October 29 release notes and updated help page now provide the operative details. The help page is more specific than Sottiaux’s social post, which said the company was doubling “all usage limits” for Pro tiers and Business Premium. The help page says Pro 100 and Pro 500’s weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged, so the wider wording should not be read as a claim that every limit doubled.
““We heard your kind feedback.””
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo on X
The exact size of the Business Premium usage increase is not specified in OpenAI’s release notes. Sottiaux said in a post that limits were doubling for Business Premium, but the company’s note only says usage is increasing. The available information does not establish whether every Business Premium seat receives the same increase or whether it applies under particular usage conditions.
The supplied material also does not give the numerical Work and Codex allowance for each Pro plan, so readers cannot calculate a precise number of tasks or compare the revised allowance across all tiers from the announcement alone. OpenAI says usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. It has not provided a single conversion from allowance to completed work.
OpenAI’s October 29 notes do not describe changes for Business Standard, Go or Free. Their absence from this update does not establish that their limits changed or that they will change later. The announcement also does not set out a future date for another review of plan allowances.
Check Plan Details and Usage
Eligible Pro subscribers should see the revised allowances applied automatically, according to OpenAI’s updated help page. No renewal wait or separate action is required. Subscribers can consult their account’s usage information and the current plan documentation to confirm which allowance applies to their tier, particularly if they were on the lower Pro 200 allowance before the reversal.
Businesses evaluating seats can compare the revised Work and Codex terms with their actual usage, while keeping subscription limits separate from API spending. OpenAI has not announced a numerical Business Premium increase in the release notes, so administrators seeking a specific figure may need to rely on plan information from OpenAI rather than infer one from Sottiaux’s post.
The next relevant development would be any further clarification from OpenAI about Business Premium’s exact allowance or changes to plans not covered by the October 29 notice. Until then, the confirmed terms are limited to the stated Pro changes, the automatic application for existing subscribers and the unchanged limits identified by OpenAI.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT plans received doubled Work and Codex allowances?
OpenAI says the Pro 100 and Pro 500 plans now have twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. Work and Codex draw from the same usage pool.
Did OpenAI double the allowance for every Pro 200 subscriber?
No. OpenAI canceled the planned Pro 200 reduction. Its help page says the lower allowance doubled to match the higher one; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it.
Did all ChatGPT limits increase?
No. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged. The announcement concerns specified Work and Codex allowances and the Pro 200 changes described in the help page.
How much did Business Premium usage increase?
OpenAI’s release notes say Business Premium usage is increasing but give no numerical multiplier. Sottiaux said it doubled in a post, but the release note does not provide that figure.
Do existing subscribers need to take action?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the applicable updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
