🔍 Read the full analysis: How The OpenAI Dev Day 2026 Updates Could Matter on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI used its Sept. 29 DevDay to announce more than 20 products and features, including persistent Dots agents, expanded plugins and new developer APIs. The announcements point toward ChatGPT becoming a platform where agents can carry out tasks across connected software, though several offerings have limited availability and important rollout details remain unclear.
The most prominent consumer announcement was Dots, persistent agents powered by GPT-6 Astra. OpenAI says each Dot gets its own cloud computer and browser, can connect to more than 4,000 apps through plugins, and can work on ongoing tasks. The first Dot is included for Pro and Business Premium subscribers in eligible markets. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare users can access a beta when an administrator enables it; the feature is off by default.
OpenAI’s examples include monitoring customer feedback, updating sales proposals as requirements change and rerunning research analysis when new data arrives. The company says users can set rules to allow, block or require approval for actions, review background work in an Activity View, and pause or stop an agent. Some tasks, including password changes, remain under the user’s control. OpenAI also warns that Dots can make mistakes.
Developers got changes to plugins, which OpenAI says can bundle reusable skills, connections to external services using MCP servers, and optional interfaces. New plugin extensions can appear in ChatGPT’s sidebar and offer interactive panels. The company also announced a creator and submission flow, improved discovery, Sites for shared plugins in some workplace plans, and support for MCP Events that can trigger automations. Its Agents API now supports computer use, while a Decisions API for finite-choice tasks is in limited preview.
OpenAI DevDay 2026 at a glance
The five launches that matter, plus Sol
The rest of the slate
Collaboration
ChatGPT SpacelivePagesliveCollaborative slidesnext few weeksTeams and Team Taskslive@ChatGPT in Slack and TeamsliveMeetings pluginbeta, macOSShareable profilesliveCodex
Codex CloudliveCLI refreshvoice, /agentsCode ReviewliveCodex Security CloudlivePlans, enterprise, speed
Pro 500$500, 25× PlusUltrafastAstra now, Sol soonPrivate IntelligencePrivate Inference this fallBedrock Managed Agentsruns in AWSOpenAI Marketplace32 partners, applyAgents Could Change Software Discovery
The announcements matter because they place software access and task completion inside ChatGPT and agent workflows. If users ask an agent to achieve an outcome, rather than choosing an app first, plugin selection could influence which services receive customer attention. OpenAI’s developer materials point to measuring whether a plugin is selected, activated and used to complete a task.
For businesses, persistent agents could take on repetitive work across connected tools, while computer use could let agents operate software through its interface. That may broaden automation beyond applications with direct integrations. The practical effect will depend on reliability, permissions, costs and the limits companies set. OpenAI’s own safeguards and warning about mistakes indicate that oversight remains part of the product design.
From Chatbot to Agent Platform
OpenAI framed the announcements as a move from chatbot toward an agent platform. Dots are intended to maintain work over time, while plugins provide connections to apps and the Agents API adds computer use. Specialist Dots for businesses are being piloted in areas such as procurement, invoice processing, customer support and commercial contracting. OpenAI said it plans to integrate them with Microsoft Agent 365 for governance.
The event also included model announcements, including GPT-6.1 Sol, which the source material describes as offering near-Astra intelligence at one-fifth of Astra’s token prices. The material provides no benchmark, evaluation method or pricing schedule to independently assess that comparison. OpenAI also announced a Sign in with ChatGPT option for users of 16 launch partners, allowing them to use an existing plan with those services.
Access, Pricing and Reliability
Several details remain unsettled. The source material does not give a general release date for the Decisions API, a full pricing schedule for adding Dots or buying more speed and output, or a timeline for broader availability across plans and markets. It says chatting with a Dot does not count toward usage limits, while tasks it starts in Codex or ChatGPT Work do.
The practical accuracy of agents, the scope of their access to connected apps and the safeguards available to administrators will matter to adoption. OpenAI’s examples describe intended uses, not independently verified performance. The available material also does not specify how plugin ranking will work or how developers can challenge or diagnose placement in discovery results.
Rollouts and Developer Adoption
OpenAI’s next steps include expanding access to Dots, running business pilots for specialist agents and developing the planned Agent 365 integration. Developers can use the new plugin submission process and explore the Agents API’s computer-use support; the Decisions API remains in limited preview, with a wider release date not specified in the supplied material.
As these tools reach more users, their adoption will depend on how well agents complete tasks, what permissions organizations grant and how developers gain visibility in ChatGPT’s plugin ecosystem. OpenAI has announced the platform pieces, but their real-world reach and reliability are still to be established.
Key Questions
What did OpenAI announce at DevDay 2026?
OpenAI announced more than 20 products and features, including Dots agents, plugin changes, computer use in the Agents API, a limited-preview Decisions API and Sign in with ChatGPT for 16 launch partners.
Who can use Dots now?
According to the supplied material, Pro and Business Premium subscribers in eligible markets can use Dots. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare users can access a beta if an administrator enables it.
What can an OpenAI Dot do?
OpenAI describes Dots as persistent agents that can work on ongoing tasks using a cloud computer, browser and connected apps. The company says users can set action rules and monitor, pause or stop their work.
Is the Decisions API generally available?
No. The source material says the Decisions API, which selects from a set of answers defined by a developer, is in limited preview. It does not provide a date for general availability.
How could the plugin changes affect developers?
Plugins can connect services and skills to ChatGPT and Dots, and new discovery features could affect which tools an agent selects. OpenAI has not provided detailed ranking criteria in the supplied material.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
